Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Turned-Edge Applique Background >

Turned-Edge Applique Background

Turned-Edge Applique Background

Old 04-07-2021, 02:08 PM

Default Turned-Edge Applique Background

I've never done any turned-edge applique before. I hardly ever use patterns because I find them too hard to understand.

I watched a video class on how to do freezer-paper turned-edge applique and am trying to figure out a block. Instead of starting with a small trial square, I've jumped head first into making a 36" x 36" block. LOL! There is a steep learning curve, but I'm having a good time so far.

Here is my question to y'all who are experienced in this method. Do you put a light fusible stablizer on the background fabric to make it easier to put on the applique pieces? I saw one video class that recommended Pellon Easy Knit Stablizer (EK-130) for under the applique pieces. Wouldn't it be beneficial to use it on the whole background?
Old 04-07-2021, 04:10 PM

Well I guess you could, but it will make the quilt thicker and heavier, and harder to quilt through. Usually once you sew the applique on, you cut away the background.

Regarding the class that recommended putting something under the applique pieces - I've done that when my applique is a lighter color than the background and I'm not planning on cutting away the dark background. It's done so you don't see the dark background showing through the lighter applique.
Old 04-07-2021, 04:51 PM
Power Poster

If you are hand sewing down needle turn appliqué, putting something on the background fabric is going to make it harder to get the needle through. Also a light box is handy to get your pieces in the correct placement. Watch for sewing down the pieces in the correct order as some pieces may need to go on top of others.
Old 04-07-2021, 05:10 PM

Originally Posted by Peckish View Post