Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Using a walking foot for quilting >

Using a walking foot for quilting

Using a walking foot for quilting

Old 03-02-2019, 06:34 PM

Default Using a walking foot for quilting

I am a novice at patchwork and quilting, but have just finished two place mats that I am really pleased with. I wanted to quilt them myself and through research found I needed a walking foot for my sewing machine. I have fitted the foot successfully but am finding I cannot get an even tension on my stitching. No matter how I alter it I cannot achieve the correct tension. Can anyone tell me what I maybe doing wrong? I am so looking forward to finishing these and moving onto a new project.
Old 03-02-2019, 07:04 PM

Welcome to the board! I can't tell you what you are doing wrong, though I'm sure many others have lots of ideas. I personally don't use a walking foot to quilt. I, too, could never get the tension/look right. I do all my quilting with either my 1/4 inch or general foot! I do a lot of echo quilting, cross hatching, straight line, stitch in the ditch, and meandering.
Old 03-02-2019, 07:21 PM

Wow! Thanks Anniedeb so much for your suggestions. I will try using my normal feet and see if I have the puckering problems that I have read can happen. Fingers crossed!
Old 03-02-2019, 07:29 PM
Power Poster

do you have a teflon (plastic) foot? that helps sometimes. and check again on the walking foot problem. is it in correctly? i hate changing my tensions and try never to have to do that. usually no problems arise. even with Free motion quilting, thank goodness. Good luck.
Old 03-02-2019, 07:35 PM
Power Poster

Welcome, a walking foot helps to keep the layers in a quilt sandwich advancing at the same rate. Over a large quilt a walking foot is helpful but not as necessary for smaller projects. Try quilting with just your regular foot on your placemats.
Old 03-02-2019, 08:56 PM