Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
What fabrics would go with these? >

What fabrics would go with these?

What fabrics would go with these?

Old 12-12-2011, 04:17 PM

Default What fabrics would go with these?

Before I could actually sew I started collecting fabrics...JUST IN CASE...well I saw these and they came as a bundle...now I have used the green as a lining for a denim tote...but the rest needs to be used...BUT I'm not sure a quilt of stars would be ideal...so was wondering what other patterns or colours would go with them...
Or what block pattern to use. I am new with making fancy blocks so they would need to be simple. I have other fabrics needing used as well but the stars have me stumped..

Here is a photo to show what I am talking about.
[ATTACH=CONFIG]295164[/ATTACH]

Cheers
Julie
Attached Thumbnails 30stars1.jpg  
Old 12-12-2011, 04:46 PM

Welcome Julie. Love the fabrics but I,m fairly new and will wait for someone with more
expierience to decide. I will be watching this post.
Old 12-12-2011, 04:59 PM

Personally, I'd go with some bold stripes in the same colors as the stars or maybe add solid(s) (again in the same colors) to calm it down (those stars are very busy). But seeing as how you live in Northern Ireland, that may not be as 'fitting' as it would be here in the states...stars and stripes, don't ya know? *giggle*
Old 12-12-2011, 05:02 PM
Power Poster

You could do most anything with those. Look for some solids/darks that go with them and use them together ... or separately. When I say solids, I'm meaning "reads as solids" .... so it may be a tone on tone or a slight print but from a distance you don't see the design. Similarly for the dark, I'm thinking the same colours as the outlines of the stars, so not dark as in black, but a depth of colour to see the contrast from the whiteness of your star materials to the other.