Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • What needle to use? >
  • What needle to use?

• What needle to use?

Old 04-21-2020, 08:28 AM

Default What needle to use?

I am making a denim rag quilt with a square of denim and 2 squares of flannel and was wondering what needle would be best to use in my machine. I am using a denim needle but it seems to be having troubles with the fabrics being too thick and my Janome 6600 MC is really struggling and making clunking sounds. I am thinking of using a Microtex (Sharp) needle which is what I have done research on. Any ideas or suggestion from anyone that has made a rag quilt with denim is appreciated. Thanking you in advance.
    Old 04-21-2020, 08:39 AM

No direct experience with your machine or project and I'm still learning threads and needles for greater quilting satisfaction.

You might try enlarging your stitch size just a bit too, that might mean having to back stitch over ends. Also, what are you using for a bobbin thread? If you usually use a lighter weight bobbin thread you might try a heavier weight.

I love the Microtex size 10 needles as my primary piecing needle when I buy in bulk in advance. Especially working with batiks. A size 12 would probably be ok for your project, I don't know if they come larger than that. You might want to buy one of the packs that have 3 sizes.
    Old 04-21-2020, 11:14 AM

Microtex needles are thinner than others and I kept breaking them mask making. Found an old size 14 - not Microtex -and all is well. 14 is not too big to piece with, though I use a 12.
    Old 04-21-2020, 02:08 PM

Have you seen this in your searches?

https://www.superiorthreads.com/educ...e-right-needle

FYI: Microtex 80/12 are my go-to needles. I do use these almost exclusively for machine embroidery and seldom beak a needle. I also used them for mask making last week.
    Old 04-21-2020, 03:00 PM