Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: What Skill or technique was to hardest for you to learn/master?

What Skill or technique was to hardest for you to learn/master?

We all have such different styles , but wonder if there is a common group of skills/techniques that seem to be the tough ones to conquer ? What was it for you that was difficult when starting out quilting or still is that "mountain" that just can not seem to be climbed?

Everything...at lease the first time. My biggest problem is learning FMQ (free motion Quilting).

Free Motion Quilting is the thing that has been hardest for me. I'm not good at it; but I'm getting better. I just need to practice more. Let's face it, piecing a quilt top is much more fun for me than FMQ. I think once I learn to FMQ better, the process will be relaxing.

Blog Entries
    it's FMQ for me. i can move the machine over the fabric, but it is difficult for me to move the fabric under the machine
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?

Banned
    Blog Entries
    it took me a few tries to LOVE paper piecing...now I am addicted to it...still working on mastering Monopoly thread...and wonder if I will ever learn to needleturn applique...sigh

I must confess that cutting accurately was and is my issue.

cutting accurately is one of mine. Sandwiching the quilt also.

Quote Originally Posted by jaciqltznok View Post
    it took me a few tries to LOVE paper piecing...now I am addicted to it...still working on mastering Monopoly thread...and wonder if I will ever learn to needleturn applique...sigh
    If you can learn paper piecing, and love it, you can learn applique - oh so much fun.