Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
what stabilizer do u use for machine embroidery ? >

what stabilizer do u use for machine embroidery ?

what stabilizer do u use for machine embroidery ?

Old 04-19-2014, 03:02 AM

Default what stabilizer do u use for machine embroidery ?

I'm new to machine embroidery, I want to embroider some panels for a quilt and know nothing about stabiliser apart from they come in tear, soluble and leave on! What do u use ? (my embroidery machine is a BERNINA 830)
Old 04-19-2014, 03:28 AM

Talking

Originally Posted by stella63 View Post
I'm new to machine embroidery, I want to embroider some panels for a quilt and know nothing about stabiliser apart from they come in tear, soluble and leave on! What do u use ? (my embroidery machine is a BERNINA 830)
I'm pretty new to embroidery myself but I have tried all three and so far I like the tear away best (it comes in rolls). The leave in makes it stiff and you have to cut it out or leave the whole square in (and I can see it through the fabric). I think the soluable has its place but so far I haven't found it.
Old 04-19-2014, 03:54 AM
Power Poster

i prefer the tear away, myself.
Old 04-19-2014, 04:12 AM

Congrats on your embroidery machine!
Most of the time I use a very thin cut away. IMHO tear away makes it stiff because it's like thick paper.
I use the soluble for free standing lace, embroidering on terry cloth and fabrics like velvet. I also use it for FMQ, draw the design on the soluble, pin it to the quilt and sew.
Old 04-19-2014, 04:13 AM
Power Poster

I get my stabilizers from All Stitch. Here is their stabilizer page. At the bottom, there are several links to articles that talk about different stabilizers and how to choose & use them:

http://www.allstitch.net/department/....cfm?killnav=1