Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
What tools of the trade will I need as a beginner? >

What tools of the trade will I need as a beginner?

What tools of the trade will I need as a beginner?

Old 01-15-2012, 09:54 PM

Default What tools of the trade will I need as a beginner?

I'm a complete beginner at quilting and want to know what kind of tools/supplies I'll be needing.

I have a sewing machine and a few 'regular' sewing tools (scissors, un-picker etc).

Also - where the attached link says 'Press each rows seams in opposing directions' what does that mean? Do I have to iron the seam flat? Or over to one side?

http://www.fatquartershop.com/Free-Q...el Kit PDF.pdf

Thank you!

Geisha.

Last edited by Geisha Girl; 01-15-2012 at 09:58 PM. Reason: Needed to add another question
Old 01-15-2012, 10:00 PM

Rotary cutter - I have both a 45mm and 60mm. I use the 60mm the most
Ruler - I have the Olfa 6 X 24 that is my most used. I like it because it is doesn't have a lot of marking lines on it and it is printed in black and is frosted so the markings show up better.
Old 01-15-2012, 10:03 PM

I'd suggest a rotary cutter, a cutting mat, iron & ironing board. As you gain experience and get a sense of what kind of quilts you like, you will be able to decide what notions you need. For instance, I would not advise you to buy a bunch of tools used for applique unless you tried it and decided you loved it. Then I'd suggest you purchase a mini iron, some fusible web, a stiletto, and so forth.

When the instructions say to press seams in opposing directions, it means to press one block (or row) in one direction, and the next block (or row) in the opposite direction. The reason is because when you go to assemble the blocks, the seams will "nest" together and you will get perfect points.

I have a picture here somewhere that will illustrate this....