Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: What value would you list?

Sorry I posted this under pictures and I guess should have posted here, sorry for the double post. I wanted to know what value I should list for the quilt below. It is approx. 60 x 80 large throw and has hand stitched counted crosstitched in some of the blocks. It is being donated and will be part of a raffle for the Houston Food Bank. I have only been quilting for about 1 1/2 years and only been on this board since July so I need help!
    Attached Images Attached Images

I am new at quilting too so I have no idea on values but wanted to let you know the quilt is super cute!!

Quote Originally Posted by RenaB
    I am new at quilting too so I have no idea on values but wanted to let you know the quilt is super cute!!
    me too, courious to know as well.

Have no clue on value either. It sure is adorable and for a great cause. Cudos to you!

I believe for tax reasons you can only include the costs of the materials. It would depend if you need the value for the tax deduction or for other reasons.

The reason is not for tax purposes. For all the raffles we list on the information sheet what the value is if it was purchased new.

If you are looking for a retail value for purpose of the raffle, I would go to etsy and look for quilts of similiar size and work involved and do an average of the selling prices you see listed. It is not a perfect method but it will provide something for you to base on valuation on.

The quilt is very cute and I hope the raffle raises lots of money.

At least $250

Value is tricky, but I've heard a lot of people say it should be cost of materials X 3 or 4.

Banned