Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Why not use sheets for quilt backs?

I have been quilting since 2002 and have used coordinating fabrics for the backs of my quilts. However, years earlier I had made several comforters (with really high-loft fiberfill ) and backed them with sheets. They seemed to work out fine. Then much later when I did REAL quilts the thought to use sheets never entered my mind. Just the other day for some reason this question came to my mind. So why not use sheets for quilt backs? Love to hear your opinions.

I have done it before... I actually think sometimes the quality is better depending on what you buy. Plus you can get them the size you want/need without having to piece it together. I have bought a couple sets at yards sales for just a couple dollars which equals very little money per yard. Can't beat it! Then I have the fabric from the fitted to use within the quilt and the backing to match!

I was told the higher density of the fabric makes if difficult to do the actual quilting, especially by hand. That said, I have used a sheet for backing. The less expensive sheets are not as dense.

Quote Originally Posted by moonangel12
    I have done it before... I actually think sometimes the quality is better depending on what you buy. Plus you can get them the size you want/need without having to piece it together. I have bought a couple sets at yards sales for just a couple dollars which equals very little money per yard. Can't beat it! Then I have the fabric from the fitted to use within the quilt and the backing to match!
    Seems to me that in the deep, dark recesses of my mind I recall hearing something of the sort now that you mention it! I don't do handquilting so it wouldn't matter to me!

Quote Originally Posted by wolfkitty