Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Why a partial seam? >

Why a partial seam?

Why a partial seam?

Old 12-29-2012, 04:32 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Sarah in Brooklyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 415
Default Why a partial seam?

I'm sure there's a simple answer to this. I'm making blocks with a border and the pattern says to start the first piece with a partial seam, and then to sew that seam down as the last step. But why? Does it look better? Avoid some problem? I don't mind doing it, I just don't understand why I am!
Sarah in Brooklyn is offline  
Old 12-29-2012, 04:36 PM
  #2  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 2,033
Default

When I have done that it is because the rest of the fabric that abuts to that piece is not there yet. It is applied later in the process. Then you can comeplete the seam.
Monika is offline  
Old 12-29-2012, 04:44 PM
  #3  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vermont
Posts: 1,095
Default

It's easier than having to stop a quarter inch from the corner where the last border will meet it. It allows you to sew on the last border all the way to the edge, then come back and sew your first one all the way to the edge.
paulswalia is offline  
Old 12-29-2012, 05:29 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Scraplady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham, Sweet Home Alabama
Posts: 473
Default

Usually when there is a partial seam in the instructions it's because you would otherwise have to unsew or do a Y-seam or a set-in seam at some point further down the road. If you read on in the instructions, you should discover why they're telling you to do that partial seam. It does seem a little awkward at first with that piece only half sewn down, but it makes sense in the long run.
Scraplady is offline  
Old 12-29-2012, 07:54 PM
  #5  
Power Poster
 
Jingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Outside St. Louis
Posts: 36,118
Default

I made a quilt with blocks that said to do that. It was a square with strips around it. First strip was to overlap the last strip. Just do as the instructions say and you will then understand.
Jingle is offline  
Old 12-30-2012, 04:48 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Sarah in Brooklyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 415
Default

It's true, it's making more sense as I do it. Thanks for all your wisdom!
Sarah in Brooklyn is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
deedum
Main
127
10-31-2011 06:06 PM
vicki75
Main
16
10-11-2011 08:24 PM
butterflywing
General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
15
01-19-2011 12:13 PM
eightylady
Main
9
09-16-2010 12:43 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.