Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Why is it .......

Why is it .......

that it's so difficult to make longer harps on sewing machines and why do they cost so much? Anybody know?
    aka Gale

I don't know the answer, but I was struggling with the harp space on my machine yesterday I would suspect it has something to do with supporting the sewing machine head - the larger the harp space the more support needed????

Or why we can't have spools as our bobbin. There was a two spool machine, wonder why it didn't catch on?

and as far as current machines, plastic can be any color in the spectrum. Why are they white?

The harp space on my Janome Magnolia 7330 is very small. I was a very beginner quilter when my DH wanted me to get a new machine & knew nothing about harp space at the time & the salesperson never mentioned anything about harp space. I say do your homework before purchasing an new machine.

Never heard of the two spool machines but I've looked it up & here's a short video on a treadle machine that uses a spool for the bobbin. Oh, I wish they still made those.

https://www.quiltingroomwithmel.com/...ine-video.html

It boggles the mind why the basics of quilt making aren't considered when manufacturing sewing machines.
    Meyert, good point but couldn't they use heavier plastic? Still doesn't make sense for them to be so expensive.
    A spool for a bobbin, now that's the ticket.
    aka Gale