Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Winding bobbin >

Winding bobbin

Winding bobbin

Old 02-13-2024, 04:13 PM

Default Winding bobbin

Hi Everyone,

I am a new sewer with a vintage machine and I read I can manually hold thread up arm while winding bobbin. My hand wheel does not disengage so I read you can due this. Will it mess up machine? Thank you.
Old 02-13-2024, 04:33 PM

I'm sorry, I'm not understanding your question. Manually hold thread up arm? Do you mean, hold onto the thread while the bobbin is winding? The problem with this is it's very important for the bobbin to be would with a consistent tension, otherwise you could end up with thread issues while sewing/quilting later. Also - I had a machine where the handwheel did not disengage when winding the bobbin - I just made sure the needle was unthreaded when I wound new bobbins.
Old 02-13-2024, 05:01 PM

The thread take up lever where the thread guide is. Sorry, I’m still new to all the names of parts. Where you run the thread up and hook on before you thread the needle. Thank you.
Old 02-13-2024, 05:13 PM

I guess I still don't understand. On most machines, when winding a bobbin, you thread the machine completely differently than you normally would when just sewing. I don't understand why the thread would be going through the take up lever at all when winding.

What machine do you have? What does the owner's manual or instructions say regarding winding a bobbin? I'm assuming you are winding the bobbin on the machine, not on a separate bobbin winder? Can you post pictures of what you're talking about?
Old 02-13-2024, 05:36 PM

Thank you. I will attach photo tomorrow when I get on my PC, I can’t figure it out from my phone. The bobbin winder is on actual machine. It saids just to hold that thread take up lever and that prevents the needle from going down when winding. I googled thread take up lever and it shows a pic of it. Thank you so much for taking the time to help me.9
Old 02-13-2024, 05:38 PM