Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Your First Quilt Block Ever? >

Your First Quilt Block Ever?

Your First Quilt Block Ever?

Old 12-28-2013, 01:43 PM

Default Your First Quilt Block Ever?

What quilt block is the first that you ever made?

Mine was a 9-patch variation in a baby quilt - I think it was called Kings Road - and I actually made it for my grandmother as lap quilt for when she was in her wheel chair. Sadly, the quilt was stolen when she passed away (she was living in an assisted living center and somebody just helped themselves...).

The funny thing is that looking back, I KNOW it wasn't all cotton! At the time (1989 and self-taught) I had no idea what I was doing, so I went to the local House of Fabrics (anybody remember them?) and just bought fabrics that looked good together. I remember I had rayons, polys, and cottons in the mixture.
Old 12-28-2013, 01:51 PM

Mine was a spider web star block......because I had no clue what I was doing, I let someone else pick the pattern (1st mistake, lol)......then I cut every piece out for the entire quilt before attempting to sew once block together (super duper mistake #2). Then while sewing the first block.....I sewed, ripped, screamed, pulled my hair and started this sequence all over multiple times, lol. But the only reason I finished the quilt was determination it wasn't going to win and I wasn't wasting all that fabric and time cutting the pieces......LOL I will never forget it!!
'
Old 12-28-2013, 01:54 PM
Power Poster

My very first block was an Ohio star and I made a pillow out of it. I still have that pillow.
Old 12-28-2013, 01:57 PM