Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst ... 2 3
Results 51 to 63 of 63

Thread: Big block Dresden Plate - opinions

  1. #51
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Madison, Ohio
    Posts
    226
    Blog Entries
    1
    I think it looks beautiful and very striking. If it were mine, I would have a vivid color in the sashing also. Yes, that is beautiful.

  2. #52
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Surprisingly, Staten Island NY
    Posts
    1,379
    Blog Entries
    1
    Well if like it it is great and if you don't then buy something different. I like it just fine, but on the other hand it would have a totally different look with a lighter fabric. It is ok to buy some fabric and use some stash if your budget permits.
    Create something beautiful from scraps.

  3. #53
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    236
    Blog Entries
    1
    Beautiful. I love the colors and the color of the background square. With blocks this size you may not want to sash them just stitch them up together or if you think you have to sash them you could use a narrow sash. I would use black and then border it in black too with the binding the color of my background square. Just my opinion. It is verrrrrrrrrrryyyyyy beautiful.

  4. #54
    Super Member sewdamncute's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Temporarily living in CT...missing AZ!!!
    Posts
    1,746
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like the way it looks, but you need to be happy with it, especially since you want to make a large quilt. Someone mentioned using the "back" side of the fabric, that may well be lighter. BTW, you have a great stash!
    Blessed Be
    Darlene

  5. #55
    Super Member Auntie Em's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Davis, California
    Posts
    2,238
    Very nice....like the large Dresden...it is a lot of work and if you don't like the background....buy some new fabric......
    There is no place like home!

  6. #56
    Super Member sewingsuz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5,897
    I like what i see! I think it will be OK
    Suzanne
    Asking a seamstress to mend is like asking Picasso to paint your garage.

  7. #57
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Casa Grande AZ/Wisconsin
    Posts
    214
    Quote Originally Posted by ontheriver View Post
    I am trying to use up scraps and only use yardage from my stash. I am doing a dresden plate with big blocks, 24". My mom has cross stitched little pics for me and I am using them in the centers. For backgrounds I am using tans and creams from stash, centers are going to be various other colors from stash. Here is the first block. I think I am going to QAYG and use red or yellow for the sashing so I can make it pretty big. My frame will only hold up to a double. I just can't decide if I like it or not. Would rather have lighter backgrounds but I would have to buy the fabric and and I'm trying not to do that. Any suggestions?
    You could use diferent shades of background and mix em up.Then you wouldn't need to buy much fabric.
    peanutbrittle

  8. #58
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    western arkansas
    Posts
    1,631
    What a great idea! Going to be a beautiful quilt.

  9. #59
    Super Member Friendly Quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    MO.
    Posts
    2,522
    I like the background, if you have different background but simulare material you can use differnet material on the backgrounds. Or Take differnt materials and make a 4 patch back ground. It gives a quilt a dimensional look. But I love what you have.

  10. #60
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2
    My opinion is the large circle takes away from the pretty Dresden plate. Otherwise it is great!

  11. #61
    Super Member faykilgore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    1,484
    Awesome piecing. Love the colors. I agree with the others, only you can decide which background you can live with. With such beautiful plates, you want to show them off!
    Fay

    "You can't help that. We're all mad here." - The Cheshire Cat from Alice in Wonderland.

  12. #62
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1,112
    Blog Entries
    2
    Sweet.......

  13. #63
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Charleston SC
    Posts
    10,725
    I love it as it is....

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst ... 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.