Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Clever Quarters

Clever Quarters

Hello Everyone, I am back for a little while. I am making a quilt out of the book named above. This quilt is for a friend who can't sew anymore, she is a very dear friend of mine. I am really enjoying sewing again. I haven't sewed for months right?

Anyway, this quilt calls for a lot of flying geese. Like 8 to a block. I studied the pattern and decided there is an easier way lol. You know, when you cut a strip and sew a square to each corner and then iron it back and cut off the other half? Well I'm not doing that lol. I went to the Quilters Cache and downloaded one of her pp geese patterns in my size. I cut one off as I only needed two together. I then made four pp pattern on freezer paper in the printer. Just iron the freezer paper lightly to a sheet of printer paper and run it through, Works like magic. This way I could pp four section of geese at a time. Then instead of wasting a lot of fabric as pp will do. I cut squares and cut them in half just a bit bigger than the geese on the paper and it worked easily without much waste at all and went so much quicker and gave perfect points.

First I make a sample out of my scraps to check the pattern (it's the first pic) and then the rest was easy. Also the HST's I just lay one square on top of another, draw a pencil line diagonally and sew 1/4 away on each side and then just trim them to size. Her pick of fabrics are all florals and roses, lots of lights.
    Attached Images Attached Images

very nice! I'm going to try it.

Great technique and pretty design.
    Linda

Good to see you again. The quilt you are working on looks great.

Blog Entries
    Ohhh, your block is beautiful.

Blog Entries