Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Pictures
dimmer switches.. who knew >

dimmer switches.. who knew

dimmer switches.. who knew

Old 08-03-2011, 04:01 PM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
colleen53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: california QUEEN BOW TUCKER
Posts: 1,692
Default

http://www.altex.com/AC-Plug-In-Dimm...4-P146488.aspx

ok ladies and gents.. I have a hard time controlling my speed on my old machines with no speed control.. I find that when I fmq the speed just gets away from me.. My dh bought one of these dimmers locally and plugged it into my singer and what a blessing it is ! I can now safely fmq without my foot running away with the foot controlled speed.
The picture is taken next to a krups cup for coffee makers to show you the size of it...(don't ask,,dh thought it was a good comparison)..
Attached Thumbnails attachment-236031.jpe  
colleen53 is offline  
Old 08-03-2011, 04:05 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 996
Default

great idea!
nyelphaba is offline  
Old 08-03-2011, 04:08 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
scrapngmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fallbrook
Posts: 577
Default

Sweet
scrapngmom is offline  
Old 08-03-2011, 04:09 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
janell2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 414
Default

awesome... give that hubby a kiss ..
janell2009 is offline  
Old 08-03-2011, 04:11 PM
  #5  
Power Poster
 
Jingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Outside St. Louis
Posts: 35,992
Default

How would that work? I don't understand.
Jingle is offline  
Old 08-03-2011, 04:14 PM
  #6  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
colleen53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: california QUEEN BOW TUCKER
Posts: 1,692
Default

Originally Posted by Jingle
How would that work? I don't understand.
It regulates the voltage going thru the pedal to the motor. Just like a dimmer switch for your lights in the home. Your machine plugs into the dimmer switch,,the dimmer switch plugs into the wall. therefore it regulates the voltage going thru the cord to your pedal only allowing enough speed set on the dimmer switch.
colleen53 is offline  
Old 08-03-2011, 04:17 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
PABerard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 777
Default

Well aren't you the clever one! How helpful ~ thank you
PABerard is offline  
Old 08-03-2011, 04:20 PM
  #8  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
colleen53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: california QUEEN BOW TUCKER
Posts: 1,692
Default

I actually plugged it into an extension cord so that it could be on the table next to me for adjustment.. you have to set your speed and then when you use it for fmq or piecing or whatever.. you need to push the floor pedal all the way down to get your adjusted speed.
the speed was adjusted with no thread involved. so it didn't bind or get caught up while "playing".
colleen53 is offline  
Old 08-03-2011, 04:36 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Rntraveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 771
Default

Neat idea....
Rntraveler is offline  
Old 08-03-2011, 04:40 PM
  #10  
Super Member
 
KatFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,062
Default

Great idea!! I'll have to try that. I have the same problem with some of my old Singers.
KatFish is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Joselake
Main
11
08-24-2011 10:13 AM
colleen53
Main
13
08-06-2011 08:51 AM
tammy cosper
Main
42
08-02-2011 04:20 PM
tammy cosper
Pictures
17
07-13-2011 12:10 AM
fabricluvr
Pictures
3
12-08-2007 02:20 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.