Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Dresden & Question

Blog Entries
    Here is my first attempt at both a dresden plate and 'appliquing' the center circle on. I have a question. I'm just learning to use the satin stitch on my machine. How do I keep my stitches even when it won't feed by itself? It feeds just fine when I go in a straight line, but of course this is a circle. ;)
    Attached Images Attached Images

np3
    Blog Entries
    DId you have the feed dogs down?

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by np3
    No. Am I supposed to?

I think getting your stitches even on a circle is just one more of those things that get easier with practice.

Beautiful dresden plate

Your fabrics are so beautiful. If it were mine I would sew them down by hand.....

Nice dresden plate just keep practice it comes easy.

I agree it takes practice. I don't use the satin stitck, not sure what it is called but it is lik a zig zag but with more space between stitches. Maybe a blanket stitch? Not sure. I did the Dresden plate myself for a queen sized bed. Took me 3 years to do the hand quilting. Keep on practicing,it will come to you. Yes, put your feet down!

Blog Entries
    I forgot another question...obviously I did the stitching in white, so I could see it. If I were practiced enough and doing this for an actual quilt, what color would I do the satin stich in?

I put my machine on needle down,whenever I do circles, and stop often...

I would have used something more that would blend in and not be so obvious.

Not bad at all for a first dresden.Practice makes perfect.