Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Pictures
First quilting project gift >

First quilting project gift

First quilting project gift

Old 12-31-2011, 04:53 PM

Default First quilting project gift

I've made a couple of tablerunners before, but this is the first one I made to give as a gift. A couple that we know through our motorcycling chapter invited us over for Christmas Dinner, and we wanted to give them a nice gift as a thank-you, so I thought it would be a good excuse to try the French Braid pattern that I've been fascinated with for a long time. I used a free pattern from Quiltbug.com that I downloaded last March. I'm still very new at machine quilting, so I chose to do a simple outline on one edge of the bars and bring that out through the border. I hand-quilted two gingko leaves in the middle section, just enough to hold the batting in place.