Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Pictures
Floral X's and O's - My First Quilt top >

Floral X's and O's - My First Quilt top

Floral X's and O's - My First Quilt top

Old 02-16-2022, 11:22 AM

Default Floral X's and O's - My First Quilt top

The amazing posts of a variety of quilting topics and suggestions, and responses gave me the confidence to try stitching this quilt top for my D. Right now it is 63" x 81".
This began with the Floral X & O tutorial by Jenny Doan of MSQC. I used fabric by the meter. When it came to the layout, my D did not want a random layout which posed a problem because due to my inexperience, I had bought and used only 4 printed fabrics. Ultimately I stumbled upon this layout, liked it and was excited to see a secondary pattern of 8 pointed Stars emerge.
The problem is that I feel I have messed up with the colors. ( and I have a color wheel which I'm not very good with).
To me this looks too colorful. too busy. I feel the peach stars do not go well with the rest. Is it because it's in the same fabric?
I would appreciate any suggestions to improve on this.
Also request suggestions on the fabrics I should use for the 2 borders.
This one is going to be used as a bed cover, so what batting will be appropriate?
Attached Thumbnails quilt-top.jpg  
Old 02-16-2022, 11:31 AM

Oh no, it is fine. I like the background. makes it very different. great blocks! I wont' comment on batting as I normally only use one.
Old 02-16-2022, 01:15 PM

I like it! One of the things that I like the most is the color combination.

Batting will depend on what look you want and how much warmth. I like cotton batting and prefer something lightweight since I live in a generally warm climate. My favorite batting is currently Quilters Dream Orient. Its contains bamboo and silk as well as tencel and cotton. I really like it and it makes the softest, drapey quilts.

Last edited by cashs_mom; 02-16-2022 at 01:18 PM.
Old 02-16-2022, 02:00 PM
Power Poster