Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Pictures
I need your help to learn >

I need your help to learn

I need your help to learn

Old 06-27-2012, 06:07 PM

Default I need your help to learn

I need your help to learn.
I am self-taught and learn from books or tutorials that generously share all on the Web.
But there is a lesson that I did not find yet. Learn to "read" a top to find out what type of quilting requires.
That is why I have most of my work unfinished. And it is my intention to finish to be able to move forward.
I wanted to know if it is possible, I publish a photo of my top to complete them (either mini or large) and you give me ideas on how learning to "see" to learn how to do the quilting.
I have a home sewing machine, it is a ELNA Q6600, in which I can make straight quilting or free motion. And I think it's time to learn what my machine is capable of doing... not me! Hahahaha!
To begin show them pictures of my first two works. An Appliqué to machine (with invisible thread) and a Paper Piecing. Both have thousands of errors (seen today with three years of experience), but I'll leave them so to remind me of my early days.
I ask with all my heart each of your comments and to share their knowledge with me!
A big hug to all!
Attached Thumbnails 1%B0-appliqu%E9-m%E1quina.jpg   2%B0-casitas-paper-piecing.jpg  

Last edited by GV09; 06-27-2012 at 06:09 PM.
Old 06-27-2012, 06:23 PM

I'm anxious to see the replies. I have a hard time with that sometimes also.
Old 06-27-2012, 07:38 PM

Howdy and welcome, from Texas!

Your work is beautiful! Sorry I can't be of any help with the quilting question; I tend to just quilt to keep it together, rather than do anything fancy.
Old 06-28-2012, 01:40 AM

Those are cute! If they were mine, on the first one with the applique, I'd echo once around the appliques and do a small design in the background to make the appliques pop! Check out Leah Day's website for a multitude of filler designs.