Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Pictures
I'm not loving this...need some ideas! >

I'm not loving this...need some ideas!

I'm not loving this...need some ideas!

Old 11-15-2010, 05:40 PM

I promised I wouldn't start another project until I finished my quilt...(bet none of you have ever said that...lol!) BUT...I saw this wonderful blue fabric with a Jesus and the wise men and thought it would be great for making placemats for my oldest son and his family. I've not made any before...but it can't be that hard can it?

Ha! I started drawing, measuring, cutting and piecing...all was going great with the fussy cut center and the next couple of borders....but after I added the green and brown borders it started to look a little dull so I thought I'd add the same fuschia that was in the inner border to give it a little extra color. NOT loving this though!! The dimensions are 15.5 by 17.5...had planned on it being a little more rectangular...

Anyway, do I rip it all out to the center and 2 borders? ( I really like the center and the next 2 borders...past that...I'm open to any ideas. I sure would rather rip now than after making 4 of these!

Thanks for any ideas you might have...I really do appreciate and value the input of the members of this board...certainly has been a huge help for me as a newbie!

This is the fussy cut center
[ATTACH=CONFIG]127057[/ATTACH]

The brown around the edge represents what the binding would be. The center fabric will be the backing for the entire placemat.
[ATTACH=CONFIG]127058[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails attachment-127052.jpe   attachment-127053.jpe  
Old 11-15-2010, 05:42 PM
Power Poster

Very cute fabric. If you want it more rectangular add strips on the ends. This is the way one of the free patterns was for Christmas placemats last year or the year before. I am not finished, but I like them.
Old 11-15-2010, 05:45 PM