Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 46

Thread: My first EQ6 design

  1. #1
    Super Member pittsburgpam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,496
    I've used EQ4 so I'm not totally unfamiliar with it but I still think it navigates a little strange, in my opinion. I've been thinking of doing a patriotic quilt and I ordered the material for it yesterday. This is just a quick design and it's not what I envision because I don't know how to put in inside borders and other stuff I have in mind.

    I guess I will have to buckle down and really learn the program. I just don't find it intuitive. Why can't I go to the Borders tab and add an inside border? Let me insert one and drag and size it to a grid!

    This is Born In The USA. :D

    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Super Member Ducky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    8,969
    Pam, you designed that? Wow. That's really impressive! I would be very interested in getting the EQ software, but it's a little pricey, isn't it? I'll have to do some more research. Great work!

  3. #3
    Super Member shaverg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,011
    Pam when you call up the borders menu, there is a tab that says, insert border.

    Also besides the book the tutorial is a video. which is great. At the top of your screen you should see video. Also the book is actually pretty comprehensive.

    Good luck.


  4. #4
    Super Member shaverg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,011
    Pam, I forgot. when designing the layout. On the layout menu at the bottom you can insert sashing, some people also think of this as inside borders.

  5. #5
    Super Member pittsburgpam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,496
    I know I'll have to spend more time with it. I did a couple of layouts, including sashing, but it's not sashing that I want. One of the fabrics is a linear pattern that I want to use for some border probably around the bear and there is one with squares in the pattern that, depending on what size they actually are, I want to insert with the borders.



    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Super Member shaverg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,011
    There is also a custom quilt layout. I have not tried. That may be the one you will have to work with.

    I will say it sometimes gives me a headache trying to figure it out. But all in all it really good. I have emailed tech support occasionallyand get a response really quickly. They also have a good forum online.

    Hope this helps.


  7. #7
    reneebobby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    cleveland ohio
    Posts
    3,907
    Oh my that is so pretty.

  8. #8
    Super Member pittsburgpam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,496
    I tried the custom one too. I could not figure out how to size the blocks easily. I would select one and then you have to shift+drag to size to insert it. Ok, that's fine... but how about some help in sizing it to 12"? I had to really, really zoom in, select the block, and pull it to 12" square by using the rulers along the edge.

    I know it is probably a great program and I'm just complaining because I don't know it. It just seems to be way more complicated than it needs to be to figure out how to do something. Why can't I right click on a block, or something as simple as that, and tell it the block is 12" square, or otherwise select the dimensions?

    Grrrrrrr....

  9. #9
    Super Member Harmony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Brea, California
    Posts
    4,411
    Very nice design! I've been using EQ6 for awhile, and I know I haven't even begun to use all its capabilities. I keep saying I'm going to sit down for a couple of hours every night for a week and get it all figure out, but I never do it. So I use it mostly to audition colors and figure out yardage. But you'll have to admit, it is fun to play with!

  10. #10
    Super Member quiltsRfun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    8,161
    Blog Entries
    1
    This is just a quick design
    Just imagine what you'll be able to do when you're more familiar with the program. Great work!

  11. #11
    Super Member shaverg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,011
    Quote Originally Posted by pittsburgpam
    I tried the custom one too. I could not figure out how to size the blocks easily. I would select one and then you have to shift+drag to size to insert it. Ok, that's fine... but how about some help in sizing it to 12"? I had to really, really zoom in, select the block, and pull it to 12" square by using the rulers along the edge.

    I know it is probably a great program and I'm just complaining because I don't know it. It just seems to be way more complicated than it needs to be to figure out how to do something. Why can't I right click on a block, or something as simple as that, and tell it the block is 12" square, or otherwise select the dimensions?

    Grrrrrrr....
    Grrrrrr, is right. I really love the program and I have been getting it since it was juse plain old EQ. I still don't have it down, where it is quick or second nature for me.

    I agree there should be some quicker ways to do things. I have tried to put different size blocks in a border. Still can't get that. Sometime I just change the size of my quilt to accomodate, but know their has to be an easier way. Also rotary cut function is not as good as it could be.

    The design you have is really beautiful.

  12. #12
    Super Member JoanneS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    AZ and CT
    Posts
    4,886
    Blog Entries
    1
    Pam - try emailing them - they were patient and FAST to answer my questions when I was getting used to EQ5, and I imagine they're still doing that. And a lot of my questions were really stupid, because I was too impatient to read the directions carefully!

  13. #13
    Super Member pittsburgpam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,496
    Thanks... I will play with it this weekend. I was thinking that I probably need to add several borders (like someone said) and then put the rows of blocks IN the borders and make the solid borders I want just really thin ones in between the larger "borders".


  14. #14
    BlueChicken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Gone
    Posts
    2,411
    I know what you're trying to do, but have no idea how it's done, sorry!

    Just wanted to add I've found their help section, video, and online forum great too.

    Generally when a program is more complicated it's because it has a lot more power, you can do a lot more than previous simple versions.

  15. #15
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,404
    Blog Entries
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by shaverg
    There is also a custom quilt layout. I have not tried. That may be the one you will have to work with.

    I will say it sometimes gives me a headache trying to figure it out. But all in all it really good. I have emailed tech support occasionallyand get a response really quickly. They also have a good forum online.

    Hope this helps.
    I have the EQ5 and there is a phone mumber in my books that I called and talked to someone when I had a question. You might look for it. Mine came with a thin book that was an overall view and I think I found it inside the back cover. Not the manual itself. I also have had the same problem. If you find a solution I would love to know!!

  16. #16
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,404
    Blog Entries
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by pittsburgpam
    I tried the custom one too. I could not figure out how to size the blocks easily. I would select one and then you have to shift+drag to size to insert it. Ok, that's fine... but how about some help in sizing it to 12"? I had to really, really zoom in, select the block, and pull it to 12" square by using the rulers along the edge.

    I know it is probably a great program and I'm just complaining because I don't know it. It just seems to be way more complicated than it needs to be to figure out how to do something. Why can't I right click on a block, or something as simple as that, and tell it the block is 12" square, or otherwise select the dimensions?

    Grrrrrrr....
    I'm not sure I am getting what you want to do right but I have EQ5 and it may be differant. I go to a new block and work out how I can fit into the grid the quilt block I want to use. You can change the size of the quilt block. Mine I use 8" but you can change it to 12" I'd have to look at it to tell you where that is. Probabaly in the layout.

  17. #17
    Moderator littlehud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    32,956
    Love your pattern. Great work.

  18. #18
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,088
    Blog Entries
    1
    Awesome design!!!! I will be looking forward to seeing your quilt :D :D :D I have emailed and called them too, and they are quick to respond and very helpful :D

  19. #19
    Super Member pittsburgpam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,496
    Well, I did have to make several borders and then it just took awhile to get everything adjusted so the block sizes were all 12" and the center is 24". I think I've got it or, as far as I need to right now. Just need to play with the design, blocks, and placements to see what I like best.


    I don't have the teddy bear created in EQ6, it is a 24" block from Quilter's Cache.

    Attached Images Attached Images

  20. #20
    Super Member JoanneS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    AZ and CT
    Posts
    4,886
    Blog Entries
    1
    Oooooooooooh - it's getting better and better. Nice work, Pam!

  21. #21
    Super Member pittsburgpam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,496
    Ok, I like this one and that's it with messing with it. I added the real fabric though it can be hard to see without zooming in. A couple of them I didn't add because it shows up horribly like the stripped fabric for the border around the teddy bear. It would be in the actual quilt though.

    Attached Images Attached Images


  22. #22
    Power Poster Ninnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Athens Ga
    Posts
    11,448
    I love your designs and am green with envy here. I have a couple of programs , but haven't learned how to use them yet. Now if we could just teach the programs how to sew, I could get on with my hand quilting, which is the best jpart for me. I guess I need to learn how to machine quilt, but just have an old singer right now which works fine for what I do. Keep the designs oming, they are fun to look at, even if I am totally jealous! :lol: :lol:

    Ninnie

  23. #23
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Port Angeles, WA
    Posts
    12,753
    ohhhhhhh Pam, that's gonna be awesome. I can't wait to see it done up

  24. #24
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,404
    Blog Entries
    51

    How big is this going to be? I looks wonderful! I love how much detail you have put into it!

  25. #25
    Super Member pittsburgpam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,496
    I'm looking forward to seeing it done up myself. :)

    It's 100" x 100". The blocks are simple and when you break it down into manageable parts there's five that only have 4 each, two that have 8 each, and then 12 of the very simple 4-patch. The most is the border blocks, 24 of those, but there are only 8 pieces in each. I think it's do-able. Then of course the teddy bear and that's put together in 8 rows.

    I need to order the dark blue with the tiny beige dots. The place I ordered the rest of the fabric from didn't have that one and I found it at another site.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.