Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Pictures
My practice section >

My practice section

My practice section

Old 01-18-2011, 12:51 PM

I made up extra blocks to practice making blocks and putting sashing around them. This is my very first attempt at this. So I am looking for all ideas and helping hints to make these right. I did not want to chance ruining my actual blocks, by having to seam rip all the time.
Attached Thumbnails attachment-163107.jpe  
Old 01-18-2011, 12:56 PM

Sorry all, I forgot to attach the picture the first time.
Old 01-18-2011, 01:18 PM

I like the blocks :) Have you actually attached the sashing yet? If not, how about using a yellow for sashing and a red for the square? Something to make it "pop" :) Good job so far.
Old 01-18-2011, 01:34 PM

Well, when you sew on your sashing it looks like you will lose your points on your half square triangles.

HTH
Old 01-18-2011, 03:14 PM
Power Poster

I agree with NikkiLu, there should be 1/4 of fabric past the white points on the blocks. If it's your first try, this looks odd, but it's the way it should be. You didn't maybe trim this off, did you?
Old 01-18-2011, 03:19 PM

Overall you are doing good. You really need to watch matching up your corners and points. Each "intersection" needs to be carefully nested together, pinned, and sewn to be sure that they come out lined up correctly. Your seams need to match up. Try pressing each block and sashing strip as you sew them together...it makes it much easier to get the seams to match up when the piece is pressed flat. Don't forget to pin everything, especially since you are a beginner. You'll get it....it just takes practice.

Oh, after looking again, you MUST maintain 1/4" seams so that each little square of your block comes out to the same size as all the others.

Keep going. It gets easier.
Old 01-18-2011, 03:21 PM