Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Opinions Needed for My Rail Fence Quilt Top. (Please)

  1. #1
    Senior Member cny_sewer39's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Temple, TX (Transplanted from New York 2010)
    Posts
    739
    Good Afternoon, Every1, Again. :lol:

    I need some other quilter's opinions, please. I could ask my DH but he will tell me that he likes it either way. I am posting to pictures of the Rail Fence Quilt that I am making in my first ever quilt class. I would like to know if you like the dark blue block on the bottom?? Or if the dark blue block on the top?? Any comments, help or suggestions are GREATLY APPRECIATED..
    Thank you in advance for all of your help.

    :-D :-D :-D :-D Have a blessed day. :-D :-D :-D :-D

    :thumbup: :thumbup: debra :thumbup: :thumbup:

    The dark blue block is in the middle. The dark blue is on the bottom of the block. Better on the BOTTOM????
    Name:  Attachment-197427.jpe
Views: 33
Size:  41.8 KB

    The dark blue block on the top. Or better on the TOP????
    Name:  Attachment-197428.jpe
Views: 30
Size:  53.9 KB

  2. #2
    Super Member quilting cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Lake Stevens, WA
    Posts
    2,093
    I like first one better.

  3. #3
    Super Member Janet L52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Shingle Springs, California
    Posts
    5,464
    I prefer the dark blue on the bottom. Pretty colors!

  4. #4
    Power Poster QuiltE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    16,624
    I posted to the other thread and when I saw this I went, what? Am I that tired and seeing double?

    So, if anyone else thinks they are seeing double ... you are! :)

  5. #5
    Power Poster sueisallaboutquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    17,455
    Oh, you're going to hate me! I am going to be just like your husband b/c I like it either way :D
    Very pretty!!!

  6. #6

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    33
    I like the first one better. More contrast. Richer. Carolyn

  7. #7
    Super Member SuziC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    3,708
    I like it either way :lol:

  8. #8
    Super Member Leota's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    4,649
    IMHO the dark blue on top ties the dark green and dark pink together.

  9. #9
    Super Member coachmatthewsvhs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Vestal, NY
    Posts
    1,657
    Blog Entries
    1
    visually right now, I like the dark blue on the top..... HOWEVER, once you have the top finished and add borders, I think it will be better on the bottom........otherwise there will be this large area without that dark piece to mix it up. Decide for yourself when you have all your blocks ready to sew together ;o)

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Lebanon, PA
    Posts
    674
    I like the first one.

  11. #11
    Super Member psychonurse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Arley,Alabama
    Posts
    1,754
    Prefer Dark Blue on bottom.

  12. #12
    Super Member Yosamitesa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Kingwood, Texas
    Posts
    3,151
    Bottom. :)

  13. #13
    Super Member karenm36's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Enchanted Oaks, Tx
    Posts
    1,750
    It looks like you've sewn several trips of blocks together. If so, you might want to place them all out on the table (even blocks not sewn yet) and play with the design that way. I'm amazed at how how can visualize something in my mind but then when I get it up to the design wall (or on a table as in this case) then things change. At least I can move all the blocks around and get what I want before I start sewing everything together. Don't forget...it's okay to trust your own intuition and judgement! You definitely have a great eye for color...love your fabrics!

  14. #14
    Super Member Just Jan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,574
    Definitely the first one. Somehow it looks more balanced.

  15. #15
    Senior Member kem77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    MINNESOTA, NATIVE N.J
    Posts
    854
    Blog Entries
    1
    The dark blue on the top. The blue of sets the pinks in that pattern.When you put it at the bottom the pink gets faded.

  16. #16
    Super Member fred singer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Grant county, WI.
    Posts
    8,866
    1st I like they both look good though it just a matter of opinion

  17. #17
    Super Member Treasureit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    OC, CA
    Posts
    2,934
    My first instinct was dark blue on the bottom, then I argued that I liked it better on top, then the bottom. So I think it looks fine either way.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.