Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Pictures (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/)
-   -   How to quilt?? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/how-quilt-t70017.html)

RkayD 10-13-2010 06:34 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I designed this quilt for my (step)daughter. She lives in Germany and I wanted more of a modern feel. I'm tinkering around with how to do the quilting. I can just do meander stipple type or straight line quilting using the blocks as sort of a guide edge to edge & up & down. Also thread colors...turquoise on the brown & brown on the tourquoise?? Do you think...?

T-Bones mom 10-13-2010 06:40 PM

I am new to this so I can't give you any advise, but I wanted to tell you that is one gorgeous quilt. My youngest would love it. She is 21.

Candace 10-13-2010 06:45 PM

To my eye it calls for curves, so stippling all over would be great. The color combos you've narrowed down would look awesome.

oatw13 10-13-2010 06:50 PM

I love the contrast! If you want to keep it modern, I would stick with straight lines to mimic the straight edges of your pattern. Maybe uneven boxes or unevenly-spaced lines horizontally and vertically.

Whatever you decide it will be great!

littlehud 10-13-2010 07:07 PM

I think a nice meandering would be pretty. I love your color ideas.

RkayD 10-13-2010 07:18 PM

1 Attachment(s)

Originally Posted by T-Bones mom
I am new to this so I can't give you any advise, but I wanted to tell you that is one gorgeous quilt. My youngest would love it. She is 21.

thank you! =) Its hard to make something for the older kiddo's without it being too "traditional". When I sketched it out it didn't look like this..it looked like that...And its kona cotton so its a little heavier than quilter's cotton.

It looked like this..but it just wasn't working for me..
[ATTACH=CONFIG]112567[/ATTACH]

sueisallaboutquilts 10-13-2010 07:28 PM

I don't have any advice but that's a really interesting quilt!