Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Pictures
Putting borders on without getting on the floor >

Putting borders on without getting on the floor

Putting borders on without getting on the floor

Old 03-30-2009, 07:30 PM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 3,502
Default

I had the quilt that I am getting ready for the frame draped over it and thought that I needed to move it to the floor to measure the borders. Then I thought... do it right where it is.

I made sure it was nice and straight across the center bar, smoothed it all out, and layed the first border strip across it. I pinned on one end (after squaring up that side of the border), smoothed it across, pinned it and made a tiny snip with the scissors. I stuck a pin in by the snip so I could find it when I moved it to the sewing room to cut it square. I then used that strip to cut the other one.

This picture is doing the other two sides after sewing on the first two. Really nice to just bring up the edge of the quilt and stand or sit to pin the borders on while the whole quilt can be layed out straight.
Attached Thumbnails attachment-27145.jpe   attachment-27151.jpe   attachment-27460.jpe  
pittsburgpam is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 07:43 PM
  #2  
Super Member
 
BlueChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gone
Posts: 2,383
Default

Doh!

Now that you've mentioned it, it seems so obvious, how could we not think of it before! lol

Thank you, I'm going to use that technique too... no more crawling around on the floor and no more having to vacuum all the dog hair up before laying a quilt down.
BlueChicken is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 08:55 PM
  #3  
Super Member
 
kd124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Camas, Washington
Posts: 2,593
Default

Why have I never thought of using the frame? Thanks! That will be handy for measuring backing fabrics as well.
kd124 is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 09:19 PM
  #4  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 3,502
Default

Yep, I thought of doing that for the backing too. Should be a WHOLE lot easier than trying to do it on the floor. Just drape the backing on the frame first and put the top over it to size it.

About the vacuuming... that was part of the inspiration of using the frame. If I was going to lay it on the floor I needed to vacuum first. I didn't want to do that right then but I wanted to get the border done.
pittsburgpam is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 06:41 PM
  #5  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 6,009
Default

I LOVE your log cabin and your border is a great choice.
That is the way I do my borders. I was always getting different measurements when I tried measuring on the floor!
I must tell you again, I LOVE your log cabin.
Blue Bell is online now  
Old 04-06-2009, 12:36 AM
  #6  
k3n
Power Poster
 
k3n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 10,686
Default

Great idea Pam - only trouble is i don't have a frame! (boo hoo!) Guess i'll just have to come over to your house to put my borders on! LOL

K x
k3n is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 08:05 AM
  #7  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 17,634
Default

getting in line, right behind K, cause with rain, couldn't work on front porch, so have had a piece of wall board (4 x 8), on dining room table, for past 3 days, but can't walk around it. I can't get on floor, but don't have that much room anyway. So, I have been rolling, and rolling, quilt up, to move, move, move. Exhausting, so I leave pc online, now, cell is on, and go back and forth...back and forth! :D
Mousie is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 09:57 AM
  #8  
Power Poster
 
amma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Out searching for some sunshine :-)
Posts: 58,857
Default

Great Idea :D :D :D Beautiful Quilt :D :D :D
amma is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 01:13 PM
  #9  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 3,502
Default

The board sounds good for several different uses and I plan on making one soon. I believe I have a 4' square piece of MDF board left over from when I had to buy a 8' x 4' piece to make a headboard.

I can put a thin layer of batting on it, maybe a couple layers of Warm & Natural, and tightly cover it with some high quality muslin I have. I want a large board for ironing, specifically for squaring up blocks and larger pieces when needed.
pittsburgpam is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 01:26 PM
  #10  
Super Member
 
Shemjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 6,885
Default

I work on my dining room table, but I don't like bending over. I guess I need to clean off my cutting table and use it! Doh! :?
Shemjo is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Dina
Pictures
73
01-24-2018 02:10 PM
cola410
Main
5
01-16-2012 04:36 AM
Krystyna
General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
77
07-26-2011 11:25 AM
pamkasperi
Pictures
9
03-28-2011 03:39 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.