Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Pictures
quilt as u go >

quilt as u go

quilt as u go

Old 04-22-2007, 05:44 PM

Patrice, this is the quilt I am trying to quilt in sections. I love to design quilts, but it doesn't mean I will know how to quilt it. Thats one of the things I dont like about EQ5, it doesnt tell you how to quilt it once you design it.

Well I guess as a beginner I shouldn't design something that is beyond my capabilities as a quilter, but I cant help myself, it is so much fun.

Well I will show you what I decide to do. wish me luck
Attached Thumbnails attachment-66101.jpe  
Old 04-22-2007, 06:41 PM
Administrator

i love that design. it looks like an excellent quilt for somebody who thinks of herself as a beginner. each element is fairly simple, but put together the overall look is complex. the hard part for me would be deciding how to divide it up for quilting.

that's going to be a huge ego boost when it's done. AND you will no longer be allowed to call yourself a beginner.
:P

i'd stitch in the ditch around the stars and other special elements to make the pattern pop. then stipple the squares.

ok. back up. let me be honest. i'd stitch in the ditch and attempt the stippling. i have yet to work up the courage to try freemotion quilting. one of the things i like best about QAYG is that i can machine quilt some fairly complicated motifs without having to suffer the challeng of freemotion. some day, though ... some day ...
Old 04-22-2007, 10:39 PM

Beautiful design, maybe try some trapunto on the blue paisley parts. You could of course stitch in the ditch around your stars. The floral one looks like an easy tiny leaf stippling would be great if your embroidery machine has that stitch.
Attached Thumbnails roses-dale.jpg  
Old 04-23-2007, 05:16 AM

Donnalou, I guess you missed the part about I am a beginner. trapunto, yeah right. I have problems sewing a straight seam. thanks for the suggestion though. maybe in a couple of years I will try it. lol