Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 27

Thread: vintage quilt tops opinions?

  1. #1
    wafflles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    73
    These are at my cousin's consignment shop. The largest is 67in by 76 in, with the others close in size. They are asking $48 each. They look to have been hand pieced. What do you think?
    Attached Images Attached Images







  2. #2
    Super Member sweet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    playing with fabric in Louisiana
    Posts
    3,376
    Sometimes, things made with love are hard to put a price upon. Follow your heart. :)

  3. #3
    Power Poster debcavan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Spring Green,WI
    Posts
    14,626
    Oh they are beautiful

  4. #4
    wafflles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    73
    I'm really tempted by the first one and the last one, in particular. She thinks they are from the 60's. Do you think the price is fair?

  5. #5
    Super Member jljack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North Carolina - But otherwise, NOTW
    Posts
    8,073
    Blog Entries
    9
    They are very nice, and look to be in good condition. Just look them over carefully to be sure they are what you expect them to be...i.e. if you are wanting vintage, are the fabrics really vintage, etc. Prices on eBay are all over the place, depending on pattern, colors, age, etc. $48 seems to be on high end for simple scrappy patterns. They all three look to be 30's-40's to me, because of the fabrics and patterns. In the 60's they were using more modern looking fabrics, and more blend fabrics.

  6. #6
    Super Member quiltsRfun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    8,059
    Blog Entries
    1
    It may just be the pictures and the fact that they're not pressed, but some of them look like they may not lie flat. I had that problem with some vintage blocks I bought. Ended up taking them all apart and re-sewing. Other than that, they all look good to me. I especially like the first one.

  7. #7
    Super Member valsma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,625
    I was thinking that last one I would snatch up if I could. I love it. They are all beautiful though.

  8. #8
    reach for the stars 2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    ILL.
    Posts
    3,568
    I like the top one looks 30's-40's. If you really like it 48.00 isn't to bad. Sometimes the price you pay is how much you really like and want it.

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    553
    Quote Originally Posted by wafflles
    I'm really tempted by the first one and the last one, in particular. She thinks they are from the 60's. Do you think the price is fair?
    The look like 40s to me.

    Those two I would pay that price.. not the others..

    The improved nine patch looks like it wont lay flat. I looks to be a later date.. maybe 60s
    I would leave that one

  10. #10
    Super Member Tink's Mom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    chicago, IL
    Posts
    9,692
    I agree with the last response...I think the price is a little high for scrappy. I paid $20 for a handpieced one from the 30's from an antique shop. That was very low...I think $35-$40 would be a fair price.

  11. #11
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    2,719
    Blog Entries
    1
    The first and third ones are good.

  12. #12
    Super Member oldswimmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    1,234
    I think some of that fabric is feedsack fabric...the close up pictures look like it to me. I like the look of the first one and the last one also! Price for me would be a little high, but I would have to look them over really well....it is hard to judge from a photo. Look em over well, and try to decide what you would do with them...display? on a bed, wall, etc. Use them? They may not be good candidates for any kind of heavy use. I wish you the best of luck!

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    314
    I would scoop them up in a heartbeat!

  14. #14
    Junior Member DianaSwi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    144
    they are nice ..but to high for me..
    Diana
    Tranquil Quilting
    Jackson,MI

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    463
    Blog Entries
    5
    I just love that vintage look.

  16. #16
    Guest
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cypress, Texas
    Posts
    4,743
    I have a real weakness for those old, made with love quilts! They are wonderful.

  17. #17
    Power Poster earthwalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    10,297
    I too have a real weakness for anything vintage/hand-made. If you check them over carefully and they are within your budget, go for it. I would buy them, finish them and use them. Here in Australia these would be a rare find.

  18. #18
    wafflles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    73
    I think I've decided they are going to be beyond my budget. I do have 3 kids under 4 right now. Plus I have about 10 UFOs that need immediate attention before they threaten the structural integrity of my marriage.

    I did let my cousin know about the quilt board though. Maybe she can put them up for sale here and see if she gets any bites. She just opened this resale shop in McKinney Texas. It is resale and consignment and a portion of the funds go to the charity of the sellers choice. A pretty cool deal for someone, even if they don't go home with me. :o)

  19. #19
    Super Member cctx.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Texas (that's me!)
    Posts
    4,874
    Blog Entries
    2
    Beautiful tops, priceless in my opinion.

  20. #20
    Super Member n2scraplvr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Foot of the Blue Ridge Mtns. in VA
    Posts
    5,440
    I love vintage and especially the first one, Spiderweb, that I would have grabbed up in a sec! The Improved Nine Patch is not such a good deal, needs a lower price, but the last one is very nice too. Fabrics look to be 30's-40's IMO. Your good quilt deals will come along for you one day when your children are grown and you have the time and funds for research and finding what you want. TFS!! :-D :-D ;-)

  21. #21
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Maryville, Tn
    Posts
    1,791
    First one looks to be worth it.. the rest I'm not so sure about.. would have to see them in person.

  22. #22
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,092
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thank you for sharing these :D:D:D

  23. #23
    Power Poster blueangel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    20,480
    I would follow my heart. How bad do you want them..

  24. #24
    Senior Member Johanna Fritz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Menomonee Falls, WI
    Posts
    567
    Blog Entries
    13
    I love the last picture. I would get that one!

  25. #25
    Super Member ube quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    9,695
    Blog Entries
    31
    They are wonderful. I would grab them up if I could. At least get your favorite! You know you want to! get it and love it! Yes they are hand pieced from the picture of the back you posted.

    I really like the last one but all are wow.
    peace :D

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.