Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: Would like opinions of border for Warm Wishes Quilt

  1. #1
    Super Member CajunQuilter2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Back home in Louisiana for now....where next?? who knows....
    Posts
    3,298

    Would like opinions of border for Warm Wishes Quilt

    This is the crib quilt I am doing for my future DGS due in May. Would like opinions on which color to use as a small border before putting the wider nursery rhyme stripe....which will be the last border then will bind....what color binding??

    Thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images


    Myrna

    They say money does not buy happiness, but it buys fabric & fabric makes me happy!!

  2. #2
    Power Poster dunster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Lake Elsinore, CA
    Posts
    13,484
    I would not use the red, only because you used it as a border already. I like either of the other two. However I think I would be tempted to use blue on top and right and green on bottom and left (or the other way around) or make a striped border with all 3, with the stripes all the same size (around 6") or different sizes. It's going to be a darling quilt.

  3. #3
    Super Member deedum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bluebell
    Posts
    4,290
    I like the red. Just cute as a button whichever way you go.

  4. #4
    Super Member Phannie1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Just move back to Chattanooga, TN.
    Posts
    2,018
    I like the green wide border with the blue as the binding. or did you see the yellow edging. I liked it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member lauriequilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Hardy, Arkansas
    Posts
    927
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like the green with blue binding also.

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,492
    Very pretty, I like a red border.
    Malega K.

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Bosque County, Texas
    Posts
    2,705
    I like the symmetry that the red gives.

  8. #8
    Power Poster RedGarnet222's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Reno, Nv
    Posts
    15,522
    I agree with dunster... Either the green or the blue looks great! This is a really cute baby quilt by the way. I have made a couple of these warm wishes quilts and they are fun to do.
    RedGarnet222

    "Take your needle, my child, and work at your pattern ... It will come out a rose by and by. Life is like that ...one stitch at a time, taken patiently."
    *Oliver Wendell Holms

  9. #9
    Senior Member johanka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    central Minnesots
    Posts
    317
    I would bind with the red.

  10. #10
    Power Poster mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Upland CA
    Posts
    18,358
    I really like the red.

  11. #11
    Super Member LeslieFrost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Trego, WI
    Posts
    1,870
    Blog Entries
    41
    I'm going to be contrary and suggest that you look for a yellow to bring out the yellow in the blocks, then the border, then bind in blue and green in 6" segments!
    Reading, cooking, sewing in retirement! Heaven!
    I'm proud to say that I'm a member of the Quilt A Month Club for the Alzheimer's Art Quilt Initiative! www.alzquilts.org
    I have a blog on QB now -- please drop in!

  12. #12
    Junior Member Julie in WA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Pacific NW, Washington State
    Posts
    237
    Green! Green! Go Green!

  13. #13
    Super Member Quiltaddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    1,557
    I would use the green for the border and then bind it in blue, just my humble opinion.

  14. #14
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    13,232
    How about blue and then bind with the green after the nursery strip. Or reverse it! Either one is a good choice!
    SueDor

  15. #15
    Super Member Baloonatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Central Coast CA
    Posts
    1,931
    Hi, I think that if you use the red in the second border it should be quite narrow as the two red borders in the pic are visually too much. If using the green, I would use a darker shade, not that pastel one. The blue is ok.
    Actually, if you pieced the colors end to end as you have them in the pic I think it would lend a little touch of excitement rather that doing the expected!
    Quilts and cats just go together!

  16. #16
    Super Member ShowMama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Central Texas
    Posts
    1,029
    Quote Originally Posted by lauriequilts View Post
    I like the green with blue binding also.
    Me too. So cute!
    http://signatures.mylivesignature.co...B5F8C60F07.png
    There is no snooze button on a hungry cat!

  17. #17
    Super Member kateyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Grand Junction, Colorado
    Posts
    2,247
    I personally like the green. It feels more restful and sends the eye to the blocks in the center. The blue would be my second choice. It also sends the eye to the blocks. The red just sends the eye to the other border.

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    934
    I vote for a narrow blue border and blue binding.....Oh and I like your quilt very much!
    Penny aka PLS 1946

  19. #19
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Brisbane, Aust
    Posts
    1,500
    Just to throw the cat among the pigeons, why not one colour top & bottom and the other colour on the sides

  20. #20
    Senior Member MdmSew'n'Sew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    a small village about 65 miles north of NYC
    Posts
    551
    If possible, I would pick out a yellow border to bring out the yellow in the design, then maybe a dark blue, green or even black binding to move the eye towards the center.
    He who cuts his own wood is warmed twice, but she who makes her own quilt is warmed forever - SLR 11/7/2011

  21. #21
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    VIRGINIA
    Posts
    22,672
    cute quilt i like the blue
    QUILTNMO

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.