Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/)
-   -   Need advice (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/need-advice-t154326.html)

orcalover 09-20-2011 03:47 AM

I am brand new to quliting. I do have a brother machine and want to make an easy quilt for our bed. Would it be best for me to take a class first? We do have a cute little shop here in town. For a fee of 40.00 plus materials. Does this sound reasonable?

mhunt1717 09-20-2011 03:47 AM

Welcome from Kentucky! I'm a Janome girl, but a brother owner will help you!

merry 09-20-2011 04:29 AM

IMHO $40 is very reasonable for a beginners bed quilt class. Am blessed that our LQS has free classes for a few quilts each year, although we pay for fabric, etc. Yes you can learn from books & other sources but I found it much easier to have someone show/explain a technique. It's also a good way to connect with other quilters in your area.

MissSandra 09-20-2011 04:35 AM

40 is reasonable, for lessons, and beginners 101 is a wonderful place to start.

donnajean 09-20-2011 04:36 AM

If you have never quilted before, I would start with something smaller like a placemat or wall hanging. Everyone does not conquer cutting accurately & need for exact 1/4" seams at 1st. You don't want to mess up & waste material when you start your bed quilt.

auntpiggylpn 09-20-2011 04:44 AM

Originally Posted by orcalover
I am brand new to quliting. I do have a brother machine and want to make an easy quilt for our bed. Would it be best for me to take a class first? We do have a cute little shop here in town. For a fee of 40.00 plus materials. Does this sound reasonable?