Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Storm at Sea (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/storm-sea-t229537.html)

teacherbailey 09-05-2013 01:13 PM

Storm at Sea

I have finally gotten up the courage to try a Storm at Sea (triangles and I do NOT get along, so this is a biggie!) but I really want to make oversized blocks. I'm a math teacher and can usually upsize/downsize pretty much anything but not this one. The patterns I've found have the weirdest sizes of templates!

I need either a pattern for at least 18" blocks (the bigger the better, the bed is a KING) OR a pattern that has directions to cut everything using a ruler and rotary cutter, with no templates so that I can try enlarging it all myself.

Can you please help? Will gladly send you something in return; I have lots......

Thanks so much!

nanna-up-north 09-05-2013 02:04 PM

Your printer probably has an enlarge feature. Would that work?

ckcowl 09-05-2013 02:11 PM

quilter's cache has a free 'storm at sea' block which is a 12" block- it does have measurements- use a ruler/cutter- if you visit 'quilter's cache' go to 'blocks galore' then click on the 'S' section (they are alphabetical) scroll down to storm at sea- hope that helps.

barny 09-05-2013 02:14 PM

Boy, all you have to do is ask a question and several professional quilters answer you. what a place to be!

valleyquiltermo 09-05-2013 02:32 PM

I Know Barny isn't this the coolest place!!!

Jan in VA 09-05-2013 03:30 PM

Yes, try Quilters cache. You really don't want these blocks to be too big, you'd lose the impact of the overall design, even if the bed *is* king sized!

Jan in VA

GrannieAnnie 09-05-2013 03:38 PM

Originally Posted by teacherbailey (Post 6275734)