Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Storm at Sea >

Storm at Sea

Storm at Sea

Old 09-05-2013, 01:13 PM

Default Storm at Sea

I have finally gotten up the courage to try a Storm at Sea (triangles and I do NOT get along, so this is a biggie!) but I really want to make oversized blocks. I'm a math teacher and can usually upsize/downsize pretty much anything but not this one. The patterns I've found have the weirdest sizes of templates!

I need either a pattern for at least 18" blocks (the bigger the better, the bed is a KING) OR a pattern that has directions to cut everything using a ruler and rotary cutter, with no templates so that I can try enlarging it all myself.

Can you please help? Will gladly send you something in return; I have lots......

Thanks so much!
Old 09-05-2013, 02:04 PM

Your printer probably has an enlarge feature. Would that work?
Old 09-05-2013, 02:11 PM
Power Poster

quilter's cache has a free 'storm at sea' block which is a 12" block- it does have measurements- use a ruler/cutter- if you visit 'quilter's cache' go to 'blocks galore' then click on the 'S' section (they are alphabetical) scroll down to storm at sea- hope that helps.
Old 09-05-2013, 02:14 PM

Boy, all you have to do is ask a question and several professional quilters answer you. what a place to be!
Old 09-05-2013, 02:32 PM

I Know Barny isn't this the coolest place!!!
Old 09-05-2013, 03:30 PM

Location: Piedmont Virginia in the Foothills of the Blue Ridge Mtns.

Yes, try Quilters cache. You really don't want these blocks to be too big, you'd lose the impact of the overall design, even if the bed *is* king sized!

Jan in VA
Old 09-05-2013, 03:38 PM

Originally Posted by teacherbailey View Post