Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Pictures (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/)
-   -   How did you catch the quilting bug? Who taught you to quilt? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/how-did-you-catch-quilting-bug-who-taught-you-quilt-t313705.html)

copycat 01-02-2021 05:15 AM

How did you catch the quilting bug? Who taught you to quilt?

1 Attachment(s)
https://cdn.quiltingboard.com/images/smilies/smile.png I was invited to a quilt guild meeting and won the door prize...a quilting pattern! I hadn't sewn since Home Ec in high school. A friend came over and taught me how to make a simple block. She suggested I take a beginner class at the local home extension quiltmaker's group. I enrolled and the teacher taught us how to make a quilt using placemats.

Please share your story about how you learned to quilt....friend, class, or self-taught (books, u-tube)??? Include photos if you wish of your first quilt or quilt project? thank you!

Julienm1 01-02-2021 05:33 AM

PBS taught me how to quilt. Nancy, Eleanor, Fons and Porter were my breakfast buddies every Saturday morning. Bought a book of easy, and they were, baby quilts with wonderful instructions. Took me a while to find quilt shops and the rest is history! Discovered a quilting organization in my area and joined for one year. I did made a friend from that group. She was retired and a very experienced quilter. I was a substitute teacher and we would sew almost every Wednesday at her house. She taught me a few tricks I probably never would have discovered on my own. I've never taken a quilt class nor gone on a quilting retreat.

You tube and this forum are my teachers now!

toverly 01-02-2021 06:15 AM