Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   UFO's Finishing - or not? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/ufos-finishing-not-t319815.html)

tuckyquilter 12-30-2022 05:06 PM

UFO's Finishing - or not?

I've been working really hard on finishing UFO's for a couple of years. They got WAY out of hand. I love seeing a project bin empty.

Judith1005 12-30-2022 05:16 PM

Not, But, I really want 2023 to be my year to finish a lot. The list is very daunting. But, I did a huge purge in my sewing room this year. I only kept the ones I really wanted to finish. I applaud that you stayed the course to finish up your UFO's! That's amazing. I want to be able to start new projects with a clear conscience.

quiltsfor 12-30-2022 05:40 PM

I may be a strange one, but I've never had any UFO's. When I start a quilt, I work on it until it is completed, whether it takes a month or so, or a year if it is more complex. I've always been that way. I have a lot of projects lined up to make, having the fabric and all, and a lot of ideas floating around in my head, but none of them have actually been started. One project at a time from start to finish.

Sometimes I make a double project (two quilts exactly the same with different fabric because they were requested) at the same time, but that is rare, matter of fact I've only done this twice. A double project I just finished and one I just started. But, as before, they get finished before I start a new project. And when I do the double project, I work on the 2 quilts simultaneously, doing each step with each quilt before moving onto the next step.

I really enjoy the feeling I get seeing a quilt project complete, of putting in that last stitch and just holding the finished quilt in my hands. Having a, I did this, I made this, feeling. I find that it's relaxing and enjoyable.