Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Recipes (https://www.quiltingboard.com/recipes-f8/)
-   -   Christmas Cooking (https://www.quiltingboard.com/recipes-f8/christmas-cooking-t293448.html)

Betty J 12-20-2017 05:11 AM

Christmas Cooking

3 Attachment(s)
Does everyone do Christmas cooking? Rich fruit cakes, Cherry cakes, Plum puddings, Almond bread and Gingerbread have been long standing favourites in our families for generations and I still keep up with these traditions. I have made a Rich fruit cake and Cherry cake and plum pudding for my daughter and gingerbread for my little grandsons. I finished icing the rich fruit cakes and gingerbread today. Very quick and plain, I am only a self taught cake decorator and a bit out of practice. We are going to our daughters for Christmas and then they will come to us for New Year.

I also gave a gift tray of a small Cherry Cake, small plum pudding, a bag of a almond bread and a bag of apricot balls and run balls to my two best friends.

Tartan 12-20-2017 05:58 AM

Beautiful baking! I have made my Scottish shortbread cookies for years but this Christmas I think I will do apple pies for Christmas Day. It is a scaled back Christmas with glazed ham, scalloped potatoes and green salad.

thimblebug6000 12-20-2017 07:20 AM

Yowzers! What gorgeous baking! Shortbread and maybe a few bars is the extent of my Christmas Baking... although I do enjoy baking.

lisalovesquilting 12-20-2017 08:48 AM

Wow! Amazing, nothing like that will ever come out of my kitchen!

Tothill 12-20-2017 09:28 AM

Your cakes look lovely.

My family is from the British Isles a few generations ago, but I find I am drawn to different Christmas treats now.

I purchase Shortbread, as my son does not care for it, I do not entertain very much and a local bakery makes lovely all butter shortbread.

I do make fudge, Nanaimo Bars, Butter Tarts, Mince Tarts (not this year as I ran out of the homemade mincemeat), Almond Rocha.