Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Recipes (https://www.quiltingboard.com/recipes-f8/)
-   -   Piecrust woes (https://www.quiltingboard.com/recipes-f8/piecrust-woes-t206733.html)

Joyce DeBacco 11-23-2012 07:15 AM

Piecrust woes

First, let me say that I've never been able to master the art of making a decent piecrust. Never. And I've tried all through my married life. So when Pillsbury developed pre-rolled piecrust, I rejoiced. But even there, I have problems. While I don't have to worry about rolling it out and scraping the results off my counter to a pie plate, I can't seem to get the bottom crust to bake properly. It always seems undercooked no matter what kind of pie it is.

I place them on the center rack and use the right temperature, so what am I doing wrong? In my own defense, the turkey and side dishes were all great, so it's not that I'm a lousy cook in general. Help.

piepatch 11-23-2012 07:26 AM

Try setting your pie on a pizza/bread stone to bake. Or, bake the pie on a lower oven rack.

mountain-moma 11-23-2012 11:48 AM

Do you Perheat the oven frist ...I have a Pie Crust recipe that has never fail me yet been making them for yrs.If you would like it just give me a holler

Tartan 11-23-2012 01:19 PM

I have made many a pie in my day and I use the ratio of 2 cups all-purpose flour to a 2/3 cup Crisco for one 2 crust pie or 2 pie shells. I use a pastry blender to cut the shortening into the flour until it looks like oatmeal. I add enough cold water to form it into 2 balls. Try not to overwork your dough as it makes it tough.