Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
what can cause thread to break? >

what can cause thread to break?

what can cause thread to break?

Old 10-31-2011, 03:27 AM
  #41  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Georgia
Posts: 253
Default

Check your tentions rollers, there might be a piece of thread in them.
luv2so is offline  
Old 10-31-2011, 03:45 AM
  #42  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New Rockford, ND
Posts: 1,993
Default

hi make sure you rethread the machine. my little janome will do that if i have it threaded wrong.
Joset is offline  
Old 10-31-2011, 04:28 AM
  #43  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,051
Default

Good advice from board members.
Anna O is offline  
Old 10-31-2011, 04:34 AM
  #44  
Super Member
 
WMUTeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Portage, Michigan
Posts: 5,582
Default

Ditto on the needle. I often forget to change the needle and hear that same sound.
WMUTeach is offline  
Old 10-31-2011, 06:08 AM
  #45  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cape Cod, Ma
Posts: 484
Default

I am a firm believer in changing the needle after every project. If you had just sewn a demin quilt you should have had a denim needle in and if you then change to cotton you need a different needle. Until I tooka class in needles I never would have believed what a difference they nake. Gppd luck
Para722 is offline  
Old 10-31-2011, 06:28 AM
  #46  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Springfield, Ohio
Posts: 5,446
Default

Sounds to me like there has to be a small burr on the needle.
grannypat7925 is offline  
Old 10-31-2011, 06:34 AM
  #47  
Junior Member
 
kcferrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Windsor, Colorado
Posts: 102
Default

I replace my needle for every project. My philosophy is that the needle cost about .50 cents (buy on sale at Joann's, Schmetz are great) and you will save yourself so much grief, this is the smallest investment in your project and you can save yourself soooo much grief. Don't skimp on this.
kcferrel is offline  
Old 10-31-2011, 06:49 AM
  #48  
Super Member
 
grammysharon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Monmouth, Oregon
Posts: 5,884
Default

Needle problem?? Use Microtec needles, they are really sharp. Could also be a tension problem. :-)
grammysharon is offline  
Old 10-31-2011, 07:19 AM
  #49  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Rhaorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 449
Default

thank you all, it was definitely the needle, I did some sewing last night after changing it and it sewed like a dream.

It sucks being new to this stuff, but got to learn somehow, sometimes what just seems to be common sense to someone already familiar with the situation, is not common sense for someone new to it.

So please forgive me if I tend to ask stupid "I should have known" type questions. I know that if I am stuck, that someone here will be able to help, and for that, I am extremely thankful. You, all of you, is what makes this board/forum a place that people want to come to, and new sewers feel comfortable asking questions.
So.. thank you all for being you.
Rhaorth is offline  
Old 10-31-2011, 07:25 AM
  #50  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Duluth MN
Posts: 381
Default

I had this problem yesterday and realized I was using some old thread. After it broke for the 3rd time, I tossed the spool. So, if you've changed to a new needle, cleaned the bobbin area, checked your bobbin thread, re-threaded your machine and still the thread breaks, toss it!
jlwheart is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
leggz48
Main
6
11-03-2013 06:32 PM
AliceQ
Main
7
09-11-2011 01:04 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter