Pheonix 82

Old 05-20-2016, 03:31 PM
  #21  
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Victorian Sweatshop Forum
Posts: 4,097
Default

Originally Posted by miriam View Post
Cari, I have run into a machine or two that would only make one stitch no matter where the dial was set. You have more clean up to do. Stuck up oil likely on the bar the stitch selector rides on... Then again you might discover more places for dried oil to hide than you want to know...
Yeah, I know. Plus reading the manual and learning how to have the settings in the correct positions will help too.

Cari
Cari-in-Oly is offline  
Old 05-20-2016, 07:13 PM
  #22  
Junior Member
 
Freaky_Quilts_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 193
Default

Originally Posted by Cari-in-Oly View Post
Yeah, I know. Plus reading the manual and learning how to have the settings in the correct positions will help too.

Cari
Just remember that manuals are really cheat sheets, and cheating without getting into trouble means you're clever
Freaky_Quilts_Dragon is offline  
Old 05-22-2016, 02:57 AM
  #23  
Power Poster
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 15,510
Default

Backing material when I quad doing free motion Art was breaking thread... The machine is great!
miriam is offline  
Old 05-30-2016, 03:50 PM
  #24  
Power Poster
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 15,510
Default

I usually break out a Singer 15 when I sew straps on a jeans bag. I used the Pheonix today. WOW that machine didn't even hickup. Smooth smooth smooth
miriam is offline  
Old 05-11-2017, 02:16 AM
  #25  
Power Poster
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 15,510
Default

I need to dig this machine back out again.
miriam is offline  
Old 05-11-2017, 10:41 AM
  #26  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,963
Default

I thought you gave yours away Miriam? I have the freearm 283F, it sews, but I need to draw up a sane wiring schematic, replace wires and the light switch. The machine is at the bottom of my bookshelf, and the new light switch is next to it.
Mickey2 is offline  
Old 05-11-2017, 11:08 AM
  #27  
Power Poster
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 15,510
Default

I kept the 82. I wish it had the darning foot from the other Phoenix if not the machine. The light/wiring is kind of antique. I use an LED lamp from ikea on all my machines any way.

Last edited by miriam; 05-11-2017 at 11:11 AM.
miriam is offline  
Old 05-11-2017, 11:27 AM
  #28  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,963
Default

I have ordered the new LED bulbs with E14 and B15 socket. They work very well and give lots more light than the old 15 watts. The light comes off as slighly bluish to me but within what I find acceptable (they are actually marked as "warm white" or "bright white"). It makes a big difference when sewing with black thread on black fabrics. I like the integrated lights on these machines, and the new bulbs are an improvement.
Mickey2 is offline  
Old 05-11-2017, 12:26 PM
  #29  
Power Poster
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 15,510
Default

I'd have to order a boat load.
miriam is offline  
Old 05-11-2017, 01:37 PM
  #30  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,963
Default

LOL, if you go on aliexpress you can! I have so far ordered four, but I think I need a couple of more e14 with the 104 led configuration. If you have one or two go-to-machines I'm sure you will not regret it.
Mickey2 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
plhooyer
Main
7
08-26-2013 05:23 PM
Michael T Kohler
Introduce Yourself
42
12-24-2011 01:31 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter