New in Ohio

Old 04-23-2007, 06:47 AM

I have been reading all of the helpful hints for a few weeks. Everyone is so friendly and full of wonderful ideas. I have been quilting on and off for about 4 years. I live in a small town with no quilt shops, so it is wonderful to see all the pictures and examples on this site.

I am hoping someone has the directions for a log cabin quilt that is quilt as you go. I need to finish something quickly for a wedding present and thought this might be ideal, but am not sure how to start. Thanks for any and all help!
Old 04-23-2007, 09:23 AM

Welcome to the forum. I'm sorry I can't help with the log cabin. I know someone will be able to, though.
Old 04-23-2007, 09:29 AM

Thanks anyway. Any other ideas for something very quick? I need it finished by June 2, or earlier, for a wedding gift.
Old 04-23-2007, 11:01 AM

Welcome,
I don't know exactly what you mean by directions that are"quilt as you go" haven't heard this. Explain again, you started a Log Cabin quilt and need to finish it fast?
Hopefully, "ButtercreamCakeArtist" helped you with this. (That sure is a long name, maybe we'll just call her BCA. Any ways, goodluck, and one of us, I'm sure will come up with an idea!!!
Old 04-23-2007, 02:51 PM

Hi Danna and welcome to the board I know you will like it here. As for you qustion on quilt as you go Patrice just posted these on another thread so I'm copying here for you.
Method 1:

stitch the blocks together in rows.
sandwich the backing, batting and top for the first row
leave at least two or three inches of extra back and batting at the sides and top, but trim the batting so it's just a leeeetle bit more than a 1/4" short of the bottom edge of the backing in and top.
quilt that sucker right up to the edges if you want.

lay down the batting for the next row
put the backing right-side up on top
next, put the quilted row on top - front facing up