Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Question? Using Poly/Cotton Fabrics for Quilts >

Question? Using Poly/Cotton Fabrics for Quilts

Question? Using Poly/Cotton Fabrics for Quilts

Old 10-26-2008, 08:45 AM

Default Question? Using Poly/Cotton Fabrics for Quilts

I have been sewing for over 30 years, and have quite an extensive fabric stash, which I am cleaning out. I am keeping the cotton fabrics, which I can use for quilting. However, I have a lot of poly/cotton fabric, which I understand is taboo for quilts; one should use only cotton fabrics..

My question is, why? What happens if one uses all poly/cotton in a quilt? I have searched the internet for the answer, and have found nothing related to the subject. I know that there will someone out there on this forum, who can answer my question.

Thanks .
Karen, Gainesville, FL :D :D [b]
Old 10-26-2008, 09:23 AM

You can use the blends if a you use all blends. The reason they say not to use them with the cottons is because of the shrinkage difference. If you are making wall hangings or something that wont be washed, anything goes!!!! You can really do anything you want, its your quilt!

Oh and welcome to the board!!!
Old 10-26-2008, 09:35 AM
HMK

The way I look at it is that if you look at the "heritage" quilts and those of the pioneers, they used whatever was available. I know they probably used lots of cotton and poly wasn't in existence but I think you know what I mean. Quilts should provide warmth & love and that's not limited to 100% cotton fabric.
Old 10-26-2008, 11:03 AM
Power Poster

I think a lot depends on the blend.

If everything is preshrunk first, (I'm a prewasher) and you like the way the fabrics go together, I see no reason not to use them.

Some of the blends do pill and that might be one of the reasons not to use them.

The synthetics also burn differently than pure cotton.