Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Island Batik Rose of Sharon Quilt Kits--Sharon Pederson >

Island Batik Rose of Sharon Quilt Kits--Sharon Pederson

Island Batik Rose of Sharon Quilt Kits--Sharon Pederson

Old 05-29-2011, 12:13 PM

Hi--I retire in exactly 30 days and one of the first projects I want to tackle with my new (used) Bernina is Sharon Pederson's Rose of Sharon quilt "Roses of Remembrance." Because I am a newbie to machine embroidery and to Berninas, I bought Pederson's DVD based off a recommendation I read here on the Board. However, stupid me, I did not read the thread about how the Accuquilt Go! RoS dies do not include a seam allowance, nor did I pick up on that impt detail while watching her video. Of course, I have bought the dies and a Big Shot Pro to crank out the pieces, but never dreamed I would be married to fusible applique techniques. Guess it's better to know this now rather than after I buy the fabrics!

In an effort to avoid additional stupidities, can anyone generally advise if a quilt kit is the way to go (especially if you love the featured fabrics) or if it's more economical to buy the fabrics individually through a batik vendor (like that site recommended by one of the members here--didn't write down her name so can't reference it without losing my text.

I can sit down and do the math, but I have no experience with quilt kits to compare actual costs. I also don't have a sense of how much "extra" fabric is included in a kit, how closely the materials will resemble/correspond to the demo, etc. etc.

I would be very grateful for general words of wisdom and/or specific advice about this Island Batik Rose of Sharon Quilt Kit developed with/for Sharon Pederson.

Many thanks and best wishes of the holiday weekend.

PS--I have found fabric-only Island Batik Rose of Sharon quilt kits ranging in price from $150 - $299 on the web.
Old 05-29-2011, 12:22 PM
Power Poster