Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Creativity >

Creativity

Creativity

Old 07-13-2011, 05:35 AM

Have never made a quilt and only recently joined the forum. As I've stated I'm not good with the computer and it took me 3 days to read all the help topics and rules.

I've studied "quilting" on the internet, read books and magazines, asked questions, and done practice blocks till I'm blue in the face. I only came to realize recently that I'm short in the creativity area and seem to be pretty bad at recognizing how colors and patterns go together. When I look at color charts I can see how one would compliment another but then find that that's not necessarily a good combination for a particular quilt. HELP!!
Old 07-13-2011, 05:42 AM
Power Poster

Some people follow patterns, some will make a few alterations, some totally wing it.

Keep asking questions, reading, observing :D If we could all do this for every quilt we make, patterns would be totally unnecessary :D:D:D
Old 07-13-2011, 05:45 AM
Power Poster

it just takes time-practice- suggestions- advice- and sometimes the help of a color wheel.

all that being said-
look at nature-
in nature colors you would (think) could never be together go together wonderfully- look at the sky- if you tried to paint it = it would look- fake- but if is not fake it is beautifully painted!

i used to always have to ask the guys in the family to pull fabrics for me for a new quilt- they seemed so good at it= then dog-gone it they grew up and moved away- leaving me to have to figure it out all by myself-
one thing that can help is to do what other (artists) do=
disregard color- use a gray scale- and design your quilt using VALUES- without worry about color-
as in...separate your fabrics according to light-medium-dark---sometimes i will lay out my fabrics with a couple inches of each showing and take a picture- then print it in grayscale- if a fabric does not (work) it becomes quite evident.