Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How long to learn on your longarm? >

How long to learn on your longarm?

How long to learn on your longarm?

Old 11-02-2011, 06:41 AM

Default How long to learn on your longarm?

I am new to the board although I have been lurking for about a year. I have had a longarm for about 6 months and have done several practice quilts as well as about 14 quilts ranging from baby quilts to queen size. I still cannot feel confident about free motion. Design boards and pantographs are good now. I have been practicing feathers lately.
What has been your experience?
Old 11-02-2011, 10:03 AM

i am still learning my long arm also i watch alot of you tube videos and it has helped me with my free motions
Old 11-02-2011, 10:32 AM

I will attempt my first post with the new format, I dislike change, at least not for the better. Anyway, I have had a longarm for about 14 months and am still learning. I haven't done as many quilts as you have. I definitely would not feel confident to do any free motion. I use pantos and have decided I will never be a gifted quilter just an adequate quilter, good enough for my family. I have lowered my expectations of myself and am OK with what I have done so far. I don't plan to quilt for anyone other than family so that takes a lot of the pressure off.
Old 11-02-2011, 10:59 AM

Not every one is an art quilter-no shame in that.I am not an artistic quilter.I can stipple and swirl like crazy-looks great on most quilts.I can panto for a classier look.Pantos can look awesome too.
Old 11-02-2011, 11:20 AM

I am also comfortable with pantographs. I feel that they give me good results. I can do a few all over designs, but prefer the pantographs. I have had my machine for 5 months so I guess we are about in the same time frame. I am quilting for others, but will only do pantos at this time.
Old 11-02-2011, 11:24 AM