Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Need advice on quilting >

Need advice on quilting

Need advice on quilting

Old 01-28-2013, 09:41 AM

Default Need advice on quilting

So my DGS designed this quilt and, with my help, found all the fabrics for it on-line. Now it's basted (I know the fleece music backing isn't exactly what I would have chosen but he said "Grandma, it's ME!" so what could I do?). Now I can't figure out how to quilt it--I can do FMQ, but I'm relatively new to it and I am slow and I don't want it to take years to finish. One of the major problems with the quilt are the 4 boats. From a distance, they look like rectangular blocks, and not very interesting. Can someone suggest a way that I can enhance them with the quilting? For the water I can just do wavy lines. What about around the dragon and in the red area? What would be the best way to handle the swords and bronze area around the shield? I'm at a loss.
Attached Thumbnails ready-baste-1.jpg   ready-baste-2.jpg   ready-baste-3.jpg  
Old 01-28-2013, 09:55 AM

Sorry I can't help with the quilting, just wanted to say this is an awesome quilt, you DGS designed a winner.
Old 01-28-2013, 10:14 AM

This is such a great quilt! I'm not that good with free motion quilting but this is what I would do: First I would stitch in the ditch around the black border to stabilize the quilt. I would outline the inner and outer shield, the swords and the dragon. I would do a small pebble or oval or stipple in the white of the shield to make the dragon pop a little bit. I would then do a medium or little bit larger stipple or oval (whatever you did around the dragon) in the red around the shield and swords. I would do the same thing with the boats and I would add a little extra quilting on the sails for the mast and ropes.

Again, great quilt. I really love the boats and the dragon!
Old 01-28-2013, 10:17 AM

Originally Posted by AFQSinc View Post