Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilting suggestions for Yellow Brick Road >

Quilting suggestions for Yellow Brick Road

Quilting suggestions for Yellow Brick Road

Old 10-31-2013, 08:46 PM

Default Quilting suggestions for Yellow Brick Road

I just finished piecing a Yellow Brick Road top (sans border) and am trying to decide what to do about quilting it. I am super new at this, so reply as though you are talking to a total newb. This is only my third quilt. The first was SITD, the second I did a mediocre job at FMQ meandering stipple. I am not super attached to this quilt, so I am willing to be somewhat adventurous. I just bought a kit plus some extra fat quarters (to turn it into a twin size) in order to gain more quilting experience before moving on to quilts that I am more excited about.

Here is a poor photo... snapped at night with my phone, so the lighting is awful and the colors aren't quite right.

Thanks!! And if you have made this one, I would love to see photos of your quilts.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]444344[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails photo-2.jpg  
Old 10-31-2013, 09:07 PM
Power Poster

I would recommend using a walking foot and making gentle curves all the way across. Start in the middle of one side and go all the way to the other side. Basically they are "waves" going across the quilt (or up and down, if you prefer). This is a very easy, forgiving, and modern method of quilting. Your quilt top looks quite modern already, so using modern meandering lines across it would be a good match in that respect. Plus, with a geometric quilt, it is nice to introduce some curving lines in the quilting. The lines do not have to be perfectly matched (in fact, they should not be).

Here's an example:
http://www.quiltmag.com/products/thi...an-meandering/
It's the wavy lines, although I would be more casual about them (more variations).
Old 10-31-2013, 09:19 PM