Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Oiling Your Vintage/Retro Sewing Machine >

Oiling Your Vintage/Retro Sewing Machine

Oiling Your Vintage/Retro Sewing Machine

Old 11-24-2013, 07:33 AM

Default Oiling Your Vintage/Retro Sewing Machine

I have been repairing sewing machines for almost 30 years, and a lot of people ask me how to oil up a sewing machine. This is the most important thing you can do because, more than 90% of the sewing machines that I fix just needed to be lubed up and oiled. That's absolutely true.

So, ok. Obviously the best way to oil a machine is to put oil in all of the oiling holes, oil up all of the moving parts underneath, including the shuttle, and touch oil on all of the bearings, top and bottom. BUT, if you are in a hurry, don't have a manual to show you the places where to oil, or just want to do a "quickie," here is what you do.

Take the cover off of the bottom of the machine so that you can see all of the pieces and parts. Remove the bobbin and lightly step on the "go" pedal so that the machine begins to run. Take a can of spray lube, any lube will do as long as it is NOT silicone spray, and begin at the shuttle. Spray the entire bottom of the machine while moving from left to right. Just make one complete back and forth pass, with the machine still running, beginning at the shuttle and ending at the shuttle. That's it. Button up the bottom and move to the top.

Remove the top cover and, once again, make the machine run slowly. Start at the far left and spray back and forth arcross the top of the machine. Once done with that, open up the access door where the take-up lever is, and spray inside while the machine is still running. Wipe off all of the excess oil if it is dripping, feed some scrap material beneath the needle and over the feed dogs to soak up any leftover oil, and you are done.