Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
What Eleanor Burns book should I buy? >

What Eleanor Burns book should I buy?

What Eleanor Burns book should I buy?

Old 01-29-2014, 11:55 AM

Location: Small town in Northeast Oregon close to Washington and Idaho
Default What Eleanor Burns book should I buy?

I've been quilting since 1992 and just today saw a YouTube video with Eleanor Burns. I loved it. I love her way of making flying geese! I just love everything about her. I want to buy one of her books but have no idea which to buy. I would like one that she teaches her tricks to quilting and will have quite a few quilts in it. I think I will buy her Log Cabin book, but I want something that will teach me her way of quilting. I can't believe it took me this long to finally check her out. I see people write about her on this board, but I didn't think too much about it. Well, she is so awesome I want to learn from her. Could you suggest a good book that would give me a few quilts to make and have her tips and techniques also? Thank you, Jeanne
Old 01-29-2014, 12:01 PM

I have both her Irish Chain and Double Pinwheel books and I love them both. I made both quilts and they worked out just like she said they would. I would just start with one of her pattern books and go from there. I have seen lots of them on ebay. The only thing I don't like about her patterns is they can get tedious since you have to make all the strips before cutting and starting to form your blocks. You can't just make one block and see how it looks so you need to be really careful as you go to make sure seam allowance is correct etc. But once you start putting them together you start to see the quilt forming. They do go really fast! Just try one and have fun Happy Quilting!
Old 01-29-2014, 12:04 PM