Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
now what >

now what

now what

Old 01-29-2014, 05:36 PM

Unhappy now what

I feel so discouraged and in way over my head. I found a darling pattern for a lap quilt with flying geese, hst and 4 patches. With everything matched up right, the back round white makes a pathway through and around the block. well, I have pieced and sandwiched it and guess what, my blocks are not matching up correctly to get a smooth symmetrical back round. I have a room full of pre cuts, kits and yardage spilling into another room and I feel like a "want-to-be" novice. I don't think I will ever be very good. I've been doing this for several years now and I just don't seem to be getting any better, Feel like giving it all away or selling everything so I would at least have $ to show for all the quilting stuff I have. I'm having a "not so private" pity party.

Anyway, I got that off my chest, anyone ever feel the same way?
Old 01-29-2014, 05:40 PM
Power Poster

I have yet to make a "perfect" quilt. I just like working with fabric and have learned to enjoy the process. If you are not satisfied with where you are in your quilting journey then perhaps take some classes?
Old 01-29-2014, 05:47 PM

Yes, more often than I'd like to admit. Do you have a friend that you could "buddy up" with? Sometimes, someone can see something that we can't because we are too close to it. It sounds like your seams aren't true 1/4 inch. I speak from experience on this, this 1/4 inch thing is the bane of my existence. Check that you actually have a 1/4 inch seam allowance, that your blocks are pressed well (I've started using spray starch). Another thing that can cause problems is if you constantly use the same place to cut on your cutting mat. It will make a groove and your cuts will be off.