Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Design wall, just realize how important they are. >

Design wall, just realize how important they are.

Design wall, just realize how important they are.

Old 04-20-2014, 07:11 PM

Default Design wall, just realize how important they are.

I am a novice quilter, I have made several rag quilts, a Quilt in a Day ATW (25 years ago, think 80's peach and green).

I am making a quilt for my mother's 80th birthday. I needed to be able to see it (controlled scrappy), but laying it on the bed was not working for me.

We have a wall in the basement that has a weird soft white paneling on it. I decided to pin the squares I had already made on the wall. It allowed me to really see what I had done. It also allowed me to see that I need to add some more colours to balance what I have so far.

I need to find a place for a full sized permanent design wall.

My birthday is next month, hmm maybe dh can help me make one.
Old 04-20-2014, 09:45 PM

Lightbulb

I made a big mistake putting a quilt together before I had a design wall! Much better to have one and keep track of all the rows etc, and everything being in the right direction and order!!!!
Old 04-21-2014, 02:55 AM

I wish i had something better than what i have but it's working for now. My sewing area has a wall of shelving covered by 3 full sized flat sheet curtains. When i need to, i pin a fleece blanket to the curtains and then my blocks can be pinned to the fleece blanket. They don't fly all over because the fleece works just like a flannel design wall does.

I need to come up with a better way to do this eventually but for now it works.
Old 04-21-2014, 03:18 AM

I just added a giant design wall to a bedroom we have upstairs that wasn't being used. Love it, but I have to keep my step stool in there to reach the top. If we need the room later for a guest room, my design wall will become my art wall . Don't know how I got along without one.
Old 04-21-2014, 03:37 AM