Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Unfinished quilt >

Unfinished quilt

Unfinished quilt

Old 12-11-2014, 08:08 AM

Default Unfinished quilt

Here I have a quilt that has been in storage forever unfinished. Like before I even knew how to quilt or anything. I am a self taught quilter. No quilt stores, no computers for advice, I didn't even know anyone that had interest or even know about quilting, but at a dime store they had these pillow panels by the yard, so I bought a lot of them and went to town. I put them together, layered my batting and fabric and started to hand quilt. Well I do not like it, it large, and not finished. My question is that what would you do with such a mess? Cut it up and make something out of it or just turn my head and throw it.
Old 12-11-2014, 08:32 AM

Don't toss it! It will keep someone warm. If you don't want to deal with it, give it to someone who enjoys recreating quilts.
Old 12-11-2014, 09:21 AM
Power Poster

Donate it to a thrift shop
Old 12-11-2014, 09:50 AM
Power Poster

Don't toss it. Find a charity group that works on UFOs for donating to people in need. Check out churches or senior centers. Someone will enjoy it.
Old 12-11-2014, 10:18 AM

I don't know what size your quilt squares are, but I just recently tore a whole queen quilt apart and changed up the pattern. After putting the original together, it did not look pleasing to me with the fabric I had used. I honestly felt I had wasted the beautiful fabric. Fortunately for me, I had used large enough squares that I was able to cut the quilt up rather than trying to unpick the whole thing. It took a lot of work cutting up and squaring up again, but I'm now pleased with the new quilt top.
Old 12-11-2014, 10:54 AM
Power Poster